aupairnederland.reismee.nl

Au Pair in Nederland - Ryan vertelt over zijn belevenissen!

It was only four short months ago that I arrived here in Hattem, Netherlands to begin my year-long commitment of being an Au Pair for the Van der Kruijk Family. I of course felt the typical symptoms any overwhelmed, homesick 20-year old would contain. It was definitely a rough couple of weeks and all because I only focused on what was different in my life- the fact I didn’t have my family, friends and the school I once knew so well. Luckily, my mindset soon shifted into genuine happiness and all because of five wonderful people.

From the moment I arrived I knew this family was unique. I was able to form a bond with the children on more of an emotional level because I didn’t know how to speak Dutch. Also, I connected extremely well with my host parents, Edward and Anne Marieke and learned more and more about the family, Dutch culture and life in general. I found this connection with all five of them immensely impactful and it was the sole reason I was able to adjust so quickly to my new life. I soon realized I had the best job in the world and I couldn’t help but smile every morning when the three children woke up and came into the kitchen for breakfast.

I never would have imagined learning as much I have by living with a family. All five of them have taught me so much and I could not be more grateful. This experience has been unlike anything I have ever gone through in my life. Every day is a new way for me to absorb and learn something I didn’t know or realize before. The children have brought me such joy- I do not look at taking care of them as a job but as a way of giving back and showing I care and love them very much.

This is such a loving family. They have shown me the proper way to care for one another and how important it is to have strong relationships with each other. They all have spoiled me with their kindness and everything they have done for me. I am beyond blessed to have been welcomed with open arms and warm spirits. I am constantly reminded with how much they care about me because time and time again they are here for me and always available to help me in anyway. If I did not have such a wonderful family to live with and work for, I would not have continued working here because there would have been no reason to. But the most wonderful thing is that every moment of every day all five of them give me hundreds of reasons to do my job the best way I know how to. I look to the months ahead and think, “Please don’t go by too quickly” because I have still so much to learn and I don’t want to waste one day in this family’s presence. The Van der Kruijk’s are all astonishing people and their next Au Pair will be the luckiest and have the best experience they could possibly imagine.

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active